My mistakes as a God parent

26 05 2011

After sharing an apple cinnamon bread pudding and a pure chocolate ice blend from Coffee Bean we found ourselves on a bench eating musubis from 7-11. It’s been awhile since I got to hangout with my Goddaughter “BoonDoc”. Our conversation was pleasant until her she found the courage to tell me what was really on her mind.

“Things are different now. You are not there for my spiritual journey any more. I’m confused. It’s awkward when I talk to you. I really don’t want someone to replace you as my God father but I talk to and feel more comfortable around other people now.”

I didn’t know how to respond. All that came out of my mouth was “okay”. My Goddaughter nicely said to me, I failed as a sponsor. I failed as her spiritual mentor.    Finally, I apologized for my failure. Her honestly made me realize my responsibility of being a sponsor and what I must do to improve my relationships with my God children.

I need to make a better effort to communicate weekly basis on their faith journey and continue to get them involve with community and church service. I need to talk to them and check up on them more. I need to be there for them in making them stronger in their faith. I just hope I still have time to fix my mistakes.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

