Fast Car

12 08 2011

I fell in love with a song “Fast Car” originally written by Tracy Chapman. I didn’t listened to the message of the song; I just enjoyed the acoustic and how the cover was done.  I was driving with my friend and I played the song as drove to our destination. She said she wrote a paper on this song. I was intrigued that a friend of mine analyzed my new favorite song, so I asked what the meaning was.

The song is talking about a girl living with her father who constantly drinks and can’t work because of his habit. Her mother leaves the family so to support her father she dropped out of school. The girl desperately wants to change her life so she decides to runaway with her boyfriend. Her boyfriend is her “fast car”, her vehicle to escape from her alcoholic father. So she leaves with her boyfriend to hopes to find a “better” life. She ends up finding a job, her boyfriend finds a job as well that supports them and together they start a family. But this girl soon gets into drinking and begins to “sees more of her friends at the bar then do her kids”.  Running away from her alcoholic father caught up to her where she become the person she hated the most.

Listening to this song I am reminded of the quote, “You’ve become the one thing you promise you would never be”.  Are we destined to become what are parents are? If my dad is an alcohol, will I also become an alcoholic? In some cases, yes. I am guilty of that. I’ve watched my dad drink almost every night, come home drunk, arguments between my mom and remembering when my dad’s license got taken away. So I told myself I don’t want to ever drink. I controlled myself till I turn 21 to take my first alcoholic drink. In four years I’ve become a messed with nights of passing out, vomiting, stupid emotional conversations and hangovers making the promise of “I’m never drinking again”. Alcohol became my “fast car” from my problems, financial problems, heartaches and built-up emotions. Today, I turned in my “fast car” and exchanged it for a life surround with friends and life serving Christ with my church community. I still drink occasional but I always avoid it as much as possible.

We find “fast cars” in our life to escape, to runaway from the things in our lives. But running away doesn’t solve the problem or our fear; it just delays when we will face it again. Don’t find the easy way out or fastest way to escape, rather find a way to “tune-up” your life so your life will be easy cruising 🙂

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

