Crazy Love – Part 1

11 01 2012

On October 2, 2006 Charles Carl Roberts IV entered an Amish school in Pennsylvania. He held the students hostage and eventually shot ten girls (aged 6-13), killing five, and then committing suicide. The same day of the shooting family members of victims visited the shooters family to show their forgiveness and to comfort Roberts’ family. The following day one of the elders from the Amish community said not to hate the killer, saying, “We must not think evil of this man.”  Many who witness or observed this tragedy made remarks and criticized how quickly the Amish community found forgiveness. Crazy love, right?

In a similar story, Pope John Paul II confronted the man who tried to assassinate him. The two spoke privately for 20 minutes John Paul II said, “What we talked about will have to remain a secret between him and me. I spoke to him as a brother whom I have pardoned and who has my complete trust.″ (Wikipedia)

CRAZY LOVE is a book that I recently finish reading from Francis Chan. The book is well written and offers a great reflection of our relationship with Christ and with others. I’ve realized I didn’t equally share my love to other. “The King will reply, ‘I tell you the truth, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers of mine, you did for me'” (Matthew 24:40). I am at fault when it comes to being the bearer of light of Christ. I favor and give love to those who I expect to return that same love back. I offer little or no love to those who angry me and those who deserves the Love of Christ the most.

Matthew 5:44 “But I say, love your enemies! Pray for those who persecute you” Trying something new with my life – I will give love regardless on how you treat me. It is a difficult task but worthy of the challenge of being Christ-like. Crazy Love is an unbalance love. It is a love that overflows, which gives every opportunity for you to give it away, regardless of the situation. This type of love is called AGAPE – God’s unconditional love.

I want to challenge every who is reading this to leave a comment on a time when you offered love when most people would have shown hate. Or leave a comment on a commitment on how you will change so the light of love will shine through darkness in your life.

Kill them with kindness,

-Jon Jon-

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

