Business Direction

27 09 2012

When I first started my business in November 2011 I wrote our mission and vision statement to help me understand the direction I wanted to take with this company. Now, September 2012 I’ve realized my goals, my vision and my mission has changed. This blog entry is to help me understand the NEW direction I want to take with Glorified Apparel. I’m also even considering of changing the name. So dear readers and blog followers please enjoy my craziness as I TRY and find the best route for me and my company.

My new shirts “Let Go, Let GOD” started because my co-worker decided to random act of kindness and use her own money to prepare bentos for the homeless. I was amazed by her actions and found it very inspiring. During this same time I just finish reading the book “Start Something That Matters” by Blake Mycoskie, founder of TOMS Shoes. After seeing my co-worker’s good deeds a light bulb clicked over my head. What if my business was no longer a TSHIRT BUSINESS for me to escape from my mundane work life but rather for me to be an entrepreneur with a business that actually did good by allowing my apparel to spread GOOD DEEDS. At first my clothing line was strictly a faith base product but now I want to be strongly influence of the Catholic-Christian faith, the influence of taking action to DO GOOD and of course the influence of Hawaii’s culture and it’s Aloha Spirit.

 “And whatever you do, in word or deed, do everything in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him” Colossians 3:17

 

 “And let us not grow weary of doing good, for in due season we will reap, if we do not give up” Galatians 6:9

 

“And let us consider how to stir up one another to love and good works” Hebrews 10:24

Name Change?

Glorified was the name given to me by my friend who influence me to start this business with her but I was thinking of changing the name because of the new direction of my company. At first I was going to change the name to Quest because I wanted a company that focused on the journey. All of us have our own quest and in this adventure called life we have choices. I wanted my shirts to focus on these choices and influence people to DO GOOD, to do more of what makes them happy (Johnny Cupcakes) and to follow their passion. Another thought was to simple change “Glorified” to “Glorify”. So the concept would be to Glorify what is good, to be blessed by being a blessing towards others.  What do you guys think???

Though I’m unsure what direction I want to take my business I do know that I want my clothing company to be a business that will support a foundation to help other non-profit organizations, activities, events and other random acts of kindness. I hope in time I will have a clear image of what my business is and where it’s going.

Aloha,

Jon Jon

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

